What is Title I?

what is...?

Title I was first enacted in 1965 as part of the War on Poverty. The Title I law is revised every 5 years. During the 1980’s the name was changed to Chapter I and during the 1990’s was changed back to Title I. Title I is a federal program based on census data. The purpose of Title I is to improve student achievement.

There are two types of Title I Programs:
1. School Wide

2. Targeted Assisted

Rootstown Middle School is a Targeted Assisted Program.

The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), which replaced the No Child Left Behind Act, asked Ohio and other states to clearly articulate how they will use federal funds to ensure that schools educate every student, create safe and supportive learning environments, encourage innovation and extended learning opportunities, and more. Some aspects involve the following:

1. Testing for grade 3 4 5 6 7 8, HS in Reading and Math, and Science in designated grade bands

2. Accountability: Nonacademic report card measure, enhanced English learners accountability and subgroup accountability

3. Each statewide system must “meaningfully differentiate” schools using at least:

  • Academic proficiency on state assessments;
  • Graduation rates for high school;
  • English language proficiency;
  • Growth or another statewide academic indicator for K-8 schools;
  • Not less than one other state-set non-academic indicator of school quality or student success; and 
  • 95 percent assessment participation rate benchmark.